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Welcome!

On this page you will find information specific to you as an Agency.
You will find information about how to

(tick) Create Clients.

(tick) Create sub-accounts.

(tick) Assign clients to sub-accounts.

(tick) Create Campaigns on Client's behalf.

(tick) Check your client's campaigns performances.

This document is an addition to the Advertiser’s Manual where you will find detailed information on:

(tick) Sign up and manage your account.

(tick) Create campaigns.

We are happy you are here and we aim to help you expand your business.

Best wishes from us.
The DanAds Team

Support

If you run into some problems, we are here to help.

There is a Support form on the Landing Page and you can always send an email to support@danads.com directly.

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Glossary

Here you will find terms and terminology used in the Platform.

Platform term

Definition

Account

An account is the name and password used to login. Name and password is administrated by each user.

There are two types of user accounts, Direct Advertiser account and Agency accounts.

Ad

An advertisement is the promotion of a product, brand or service to viewers. The goal of an ad is to attract interest, engagement and sales.

Ad-slot

The space on a web page where an ad loads.
A web page or app can contain one or several Ad-slots. An ad-slot has one or several preset Sizes.

Add-on price

An add-on price can be added for the targeting options you select. You can identify which options have an added price through a green icon next to the targeting.

Advertiser 

Advertisers are users who have access to The Platform and can book Campaigns. Direct Advertisers create Campaigns for oneself.

Agency

Agency is a company who creates Campaigns on behalf of their Clients.

Agency Client

Advertisers linked to an Agency. Clients are administrated by the Agency. Clients are not users of the platform.

Agency Commission

Percentage of revenue given to Agencies. Commission levels are set in the platform by the Publisher.

Amount

There are two Amounts in the platform:

  • Budgeted Amount
    The amount an Advertiser enters when creating a Campaign. The amount is entered in either monetary amount or Impressions.

  • Delivered Amount
    Delivered amount for digital Campaigns are calculated from delivered Impressions, Price Model and Price.

Audience

Your audience are the users who see and interact with your ads.

Audience targeting is a technique you can use to target specific audiences by the user's demographics, past behaviors, interests, income and preferences.

Budget

Maximum amount you as the Advertiser wants to spend on a Campaign. Budget is entered in monetary amount in your selected currency or entered in impressions or clicks.

Budget model

Pre-pay and Subscription are Budget models.

Campaign

An advertising Campaign. A Campaign has a Budget, Start date, Targeting and one or several Creatives.

A Campaign’s Type, Placement and Targeting decides where and to whom the advertisement will be shown.

Campaign Type

The type of media where the Campaign will run. For example Digital Ad, Radio Spot, TV Spot, Print Ad, Social Post, In App, Video, etc.

Click

When someone clicks your ad.

CPC

Cost-Per-Click

CPD

Cost-Per-Day

CPM

Cost per thousand, (Cost-Per-Mille), a term for the price of 1,000 ad impressions.

If an ad placement on a website has a price $2.00 CPM, it means an Advertiser will pay $2.00 for every 1,000 ad impressions.

CTR

Click Trough Rate. Number of times your ad has been clicked divided by the number of times the ad has been shown. For example, the ad was shown 10000 times, and clicked 45 times: 45/10000 = 0.45 % CTR.

Creative

The ad shown. It can be a static image, a combination of images and text or a video. Image, Native Ads, Video, Radio Spot, Social post ads and Third Party Script are some examples of Creatives.

Destination URL

Most Creatives shown on digital media has a Destination URL. The page which is opened when someone clicks your ad.

Geographical targeting

Also now as Geo-targeting, lets you target your ads to audiences located in specific geographical locations.

Create Campaign > Geographical targeting

Impression Budget

Based on Budget and Price. How many impressions which are expected to deliver for a Campaign

Impressions

Number of times an ad has been delivered on any device.

KPI

Key Performance Indicators, how the Campaign performance is measured. For example CTR.

Landing page

The first page of the platform. Describes the platform. Shown to all visitors before login and sign-up.

Native Ads

Ads that match the look, feel and function of the media format in which they appear. Native ads are often a combination of text and images.

Notifications

Automatic email notifications send from the platform.

Placement

The ad-slots where ads will be shown. A placement is most often defined with a Size, a Price, audience Targeting and delivery options.  

Pre-pay

Pre-pay is to settle payment for a Campaign before the Campaign has started. The payment can be settled either with a direct card payment at checkout, or as an invoice payment handled outside of the platform.

Price

Price in selected Price Model, set on Product level.

Price Model

When you purchase a Campaign you see the price given in one of several price models. The price model is related to the goal of your Campaign. Prices are calculated using these price models:

  • CPM (Cost-Per-Mille)
    Price per 1000 impressions. Select this when you want to reach as many as possible. As you are creating your Campaign the availability is checked continuously. You pay for delivered impressions.

  • CPC (Cost-Per-Click)
    Price per click.

  • CPD (Cost-Per-Day)
    You buy all or a percentage of the available impressions for a limited time, usually a couple of days.

Product

Preset combinations of Placement, Campaign type, Price, Targeting and available Creatives.

Product filters

When you create a Campaign you are guided through options such as Price models, Ad types, Campaign goals and Placements. Your selections serves as filters to select the right Product for the Campaign you are creating.

Promo code

A promo code is a code you enter to get a discount. On checkout it gives you a discount on the current Order.

Publisher 

The Publisher who is licensed to use the platform for delivering ad Campaigns and promotions on their ad network(s).

reCAPTCHA

A method to determine whether the visitor is human or not, for example a robot.

When you sign-up to a platform, the CAPTCHA will give you one or more of the following three experiences:

  • No interruption if a low “risk score” is returned.

  • If a risk score is triggered, an “I’m not a robot” checkbox

  • If a higher risk score is triggered, images where the visitor is advised to mark all images that follow a common theme.

Size

Width x height dimensions for an Ad-slot.

For digital Campaigns, the ad-slot is measured in pixels. For print Campaigns sizes are measured in mm or inches.

Targeting

Targeting is an online advertisement technique that refers to the targeted placement of ads.

The platform can deliver tailor-made ads based on the user's demographics, past behaviors and preferences. By using targeting, you can unlock these features and increase visibility and user interaction with your ad.

The Platform

The platform you use to create, pay, monitor and administrate your Campaigns.

Third Party Script

A technique to serve your ad from other ad management systems.

Your account

Sign-up and related functionality are described in the Advertiser's Manual.

Sign up

Log in

Forgot password

Manage your account

Dashboard for Agencies

When you have successfully logged in, first page is The Campaign dashboard.

On this page you can:

  • See all your campaigns.

  • Check performance summary.

  • Search and filter your campaigns.

The icon navigation bar

In the icon navigation bar, you have direct access to:

  • Clients

  • Reports

  • Orders

  • Sub-accounts

Clients

In the clients listing you have an overview of all your clients.

The list gives you an aggregated view over key metrics like Total impressions, Total Amount, Total Clicks, etc. for each client.

In the clients list you can search and create new clients.

Click on any client will show the Client details.

Reports

Under reports you find reports for:

  • Campaigns

  • Order

  • Clients

You can create one-time reports or schedule reports to be sent to you on regular intervals.

Orders

All order you or any of your sub-accounts have created.

Sub-accounts

Here you have an overview of all sub-accounts.

This is where you create new sub-accounts. There is no limitation of number of sub-accounts you can create.

To open the sub-account details. hover over the list and select the icon to open the sub-account details.

Sub-account details

Here you will find everything related to this sub-account.

  • All campaigns created by this sub-account.

  • Performance across all campaigns created by this sub-account.

  • All orders created by this sub-account.

  • The sub-account profile with basic information, billing address, special commission rates, etc.

  • All clients this sub-account is assigned to.

Client details

Client details gives you an overview of:

  • All campaign you or any sub-account has created for this client.

  • Aggregated Performance across all campaigns for this client.

  • All orders for this clients.

  • Client details.

Campaign details show:

  • Campaigns created for the client.

  • Aggregated Performance.

  • Orders

  • Click on an order to show Order details with:
    - Campaigns
    - Documents
    - Transactions

  • Client profile
    Under Client profile you will find:
    - Client general information
    - Which user(s) the client is assigned to.

Assign clients to users

On Client details > Assigned to you can set which sub-account is assigned to a client. By doing so the client, the client’s campaigns and orders will only be visible to that sub-account(s). You can assign one or multiple sub-accounts to a client.

Clients which are not assigned to any sub-account are visible to all sub-accounts.

Campaigns

Create a campaign

When you create a campaign you first pick a Client.

The rest of campaign creation is identical to Advertiser > Create campaign.

Pause a running campaign

You can Pause/Resume creatives on running campaigns.

Creatives

Creatives are the actual ads shown to your audience. You can add as many creatives as you like, and you can add them at any time.

Depending on the type of campaign you are setting up, different creative options are available. You can upload images in different sizes, design your ads from scratch, use creatives from a third-party provider or upload videos.

Before your ad can be shown to audiences it is reviewed by the publisher and either approved or rejected. You will find the publisher’s Creative Approval Policy in the creative wizard.

Add Creatives

You can add creatives from the Create Campaign wizard and from the Campaign details.

Create Campaign > Creatives > Add Creative.

Campaign details > Creatives > New Creative

Creatives types

In this step you choose what type of ad you want to create.
Depending on what type of campaign you are creating, the available creative types will change.

You can also select a creative you have previously used from your Creative library.

You will find detailed descriptions via the links.

Creative statuses

After adding your creative to your campaign, it must be approved before your ad can be shown to audiences. You can pause individual creatives or pause all of them by pausing the campaign. Here are the different statuses and how they are used:

Creatives statuses

When you first add a creative it is in DRAFT status.
When a new campaign is confirmed/payed by you, or you add a new creative to an existing confirmed campaign, the creative is UNDER REVIEW.
The publisher will get an email notification and your creative will be either Approved or Rejected.

You will be notified by email if your creative is approved or in case of rejection, the reason why it was not approved. If your creative is rejected you can copy it and make changes or add a new creative.

Approved creatives automatically go to ACTIVE.
Active creatives are ready to be served after campaign start date.

ACTIVE creatives can be PAUSED and RESUMED by you at any time.

If all creatives under a campaign are paused the campaign status will change to PAUSED.

For uploaded Video creatives there is an additional status PROCESSING. During Processing the publisher is making sure your video is entered in the ad-server correctly.

Pause/Restart creatives

You can pause any creatives at any time. Pausing means the ad will stop being shown to anyone. You can also pause all creatives at the same time by pausing the campaign.

  1. Open Campaign details > Creatives

  2. To pause all creatives select Pause from the status drop-down.

  3. To pause individual creatives click the Pause icon.

  4. When you pause creatives status changes to PAUSED
    NOTE: If your campaign is live, and this was the only ACTIVE creative, the campaign status also changes to PAUSED.

  5. You can Resume a paused creative whenever you like. When you do, the creative status changes to ACTIVE.
    NOTE: Active creatives will not be shown to your audience until your campaign is LIVE.

  6. If a campaign is paused you have to Resume it before your ads can be shown.

  7. When a campaign is LIVE it will show ACTIVE creatives.

REMEMBER!
Paused campaigns must be resumed by you manually before the ads will be shown.


Image Creative / Display

If you want to create your ad from just one image or a video, you can do so by the option Upload your Creative.

You add creatives directly from the Wizard or under Campaign details > Creatives.

  1. Select + New Creative

  2. Select Creative Type appropriate for your campaign.
    For image and video creatives, select Upload your Creative.

    If the Type of creative you are looking for is not available, check the previous step in the Wizard to see which are the Available Creatives.

  3. Select Format.


    If the format you are looking for is not available, check the Product step in the Wizard to see which creatives are available.

  4. Select the image for your ad.

    You can:
    - Upload an image from your computer.
    - Drag an image from your desktop.
    - Select and image from your previously used images.

  5. You can adjust and crop the image by the Edit image link.

  6. Click Next.

  7. Add Details:
    - Creative Name (only you will see this)
    - Destination URL (the page your audience will be redirected to when they click your ad)
    - Third-party tracking URL (optional)

  8. Select Complete when you are done.

  9. Your new creative is shown in the list.

  10. Creative statuses:

  • If your campaign is checked out by card or set for invoice payment, the status for new creatives will be Under Review. Creatives with this status are automatically sent for approval.

  • If you have not yet checked out the campaign, the status of new creatives will be Draft.
    When you check out a campaign, Draft creatives under the campaign will change status to Under Review and is sent for approval.

Power tip for image ads!

TIP: By adding creatives to as many as possible of the available sizes, your campaign has a higher chance of reaching it’s goal.

Build your ad - Native ads

You can build the creatives for your ad in a few simple steps. This type of creative is called Native. It will adopt to the look and feel of the website and context it is shown in. A native ad usually contains an image, your logo, a headline, text and a link to your website or any other location on the internet.

You can add creatives directly from the Wizard or under Campaign details > Creatives.

  1. Select + New Creative

  2. Select Type Native.

  3. Select a Format / Size that is appropriate for you.

    If the format you are looking for is not available, check the Product step in the Wizard to see which are the available sizes.

  4. Select the main image for your ad.

    You can:
    - Upload an image.
    - Drag an image from your desktop.
    - Select an image from previously used images.

  5. Under Edit image you can adjust, crop, flip, rotate and zoom the image.
    The goal here is to make the image fit the size.

  6. After you have finished editing your image, click Done.

  7. Add Logo or any Secondary Image if available.

  8. Click Next.

  9. Add Details:
    - Creative Name (only you will see this)
    - Destination URL (what will happen when your ad is clicked)
    - Headline
    - Body text
    - Call to action text
    - Attribution text

  10. Select Complete when you are done.

  11. Your new native creative is added to your campaign.

  12. Creative statuses:

  • If your campaign is checked out by card or set for invoice payment, the status for new creatives will be Under Review. Creatives with this status are automatically sent for approval.

  • If you have not yet checked out the campaign, the status of new creatives will be Draft.
    When you check out a campaign, Draft creatives under the campaign will change status to Under Review and is sent for approval.

Third Party script Creatives

If you want your creative to be served via a third party provider, you can do so by the option Add a Third Party Script.

You add this type of creatives directly from the Wizard or under Campaign details > Creatives.

  1. Select + New Creative

  2. Select Creative Type > Add a Third Party Script.

  3. Select a Format / Size.


    If the Format you are looking for is not available, check the Product step in the Wizard to see which are the available creatives and sizes.

  4. Click Next.

  5. In Details page enter:
    - Creative Name (only you will see this)
    - Script
    If the ad is already available from the third-party ad-server, you will see it under Preview.

  6. Select Complete.

  7. The new creative is added to your campaign.

  8. Creative statuses:

  • If your campaign is checked out by card or set for invoice payment, the status for new creatives will be Under Review. Creatives with this status are automatically sent for approval.

  • If you have not yet checked out the campaign, the status of new creatives will be Draft.
    When you check out a campaign, Draft creatives under the campaign will change status to Under Review and is sent for approval.

Video Creative

If you want to use a video in your ad, you can do so by the option Upload Video.

As with any other type of creative, you add your video directly from the Wizard or under Campaign details > Creatives.

  1. Select + New Creative

  2. You can select between Upload your Video Creative and Upload VAST Video Tag.
    For VAST please see section VAST Video Tag below.

  3. Select Next to select the size of the placement where your video will be shown.

  4. Select Next to move forward..

  5. Select Upload to select a video from your computer or or drag & drop a video file directly to the marked area:

    While uploading you will see a progress message in the Preview section.

  6. If the upload is successful you will see your video in the Preview section.

  7. Start your video and make sure everything is correct.
    Then select Next.

  8. Details is the last screen in the creative wizard:

    Here you set:
    - Creative Name (only you will see this)
    - Destination URL (when people click your ad, this is where they will be re-directed.
    - Tracking Event(s) (optional)
    You can set as many tracking events as you like.
    For each event you want to track, you set the Third-party tracking URL.

  9. When you are done, select Complete.

  10. Your new video creative is shown in the list.

VAST Video Tag

For VAST Video Tags, after selecting Size, you only set Creative Name and VAST Tag URL.

The rest of the parameters for video, Destination URL, etc. is handled inside the VAST Tag.

Video Creative statuses

New video creatives are shown with status DRAFT.

When you Checkout and pay, the status of your creatives changes from Draft to Under Review and a notification is sent to the publisher to review and approve your ad.

When the publisher starts the approval process, you will see your video status change from Under Review to Processing.

After your creative has been reviewed you will get a notification that your video is either Approved or Rejected. If rejected, you will see the reason for rejection. If approved, your video is shown to your audiences.

During the time your video is shown, the status is Active and you can see statistics updated daily.

Video creative error messages

In case your video file or VAST Tag does not meet the requirements, you will see a message describing the problem.

When this happens, you need to upload a different video file or provide a different VAST Tag.


Reports show details and statistics for all your Campaigns and Orders
You decide if you want either a one-time report for download, or as a scheduled report which is sent to your email address regularly.

All reports are exported in Excel format.

You reach the report functionality via the Report icon on the Dashboard.

Create a report

  1. Click New Report.

  2. Select Campaigns or Orders.
    Note: if you are an Agency, you will also have an option to export Clients.

  3. Enter a Report name.

  4. Select either:

    1. One-time report

    2. Scheduled report

One-time report

  1. Set Time Period.
    Date period for which you want to export data.

  2. Select Export options.
    - Direct download - you will be able to download the report directly.
    - Send by email - the report will be sent to you as an attachment.

  3. Click Save.

  4. The new report show status GENERATING until it is ready.

  5. You can download the report when status is COMPLETED.

Scheduled report

  1. Select Time Period.

  2. Select Frequency.

  3. Click Save.

  4. Your new scheduled report will regularly be sent to the email address on your account in the Platform.


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